California Fashion Foundation’s annual Scholarship Awards Luncheon was held at the California Market Center, honoring future fashion design innovators with scholarship awards.

After previewing the winning designs, scholarships were presented in the names of YMA National Fashion Scholarship Fund, 360 Sweater Company; AIMS360; Barbara Lesser; Ben & Joyce Eisenberg Foundation; Betty Baumgardner Foundation; California Apparel News; California Market Center; CIT Commercial Services; Cooper Design Space; Design Knit; Fineman West & Company; Frankie; Karen Kane; KWDZ Manufacturing; MGT Industries; Moss Adams LLP; PCB Label; Rags for Richards Foundation; STC-QST; Stony Apparel; Swat Fame; Tukatech; Velvet Heart.

Attendees enjoyed lunch from the New Moon restaurant (provided by STC-QST) ‘pep talks’, and award presentations. Ilse Metchek, President of the California Fashion Association welcomed the guests and introduced the speakers. Tammy Chatkin, Executive Vice President of 24Seven Talent, shared advice on “Entering the Job Market,” Pat Tabassi, Designer/Owner of Design Knit, gave insights into “The Road Ahead,” and Jesse Dombrowiak, CEO of Indie Source described a “Your Home for Design Entrepreneurs.” Douglas Evans, Executive Director of the YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund presented scholarships to the winning design students.

Each sponsor then presented a ‘Fashion Star Award’ to winning finalists. Participating schools were: Art Center College of Design; California State University-Long Beach; California State University-Los Angeles; Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising; Long Beach City College; Los Angeles Trade Technical College; Mt San Antonio College; Otis College of Art & Design; Santa Monica College; Woodbury University.